Rent a car in Yerevan at the lowest prices,
from car rental company Naniko

live help online

Tel: (+374) 43 48 44 88 / 60 40 11 00

email: contact@naniko.com


Travel to Gegard Monastery

Geghard monastery impresses visitors with a first glance by its hieratic solemnity and indescribably beauty of rocky mountains, by which it surrounded .

It is placed in the same named town in the Kotaik region and its name means – the monastery of spear, that refers to the spear by which was injured Christ during the crucifixion. According to legend, it was delivered to Armenia by Apostle and today is kept in Echmiadzin as the most valuable relic.

The extraordinarity and uniqueness of the monastery lies in the fact that the structure toreutic into the grot.

 

As known the sanctuary was erected by St.Gregory at the spot of the holy source coming from the intern of the grot.

The original monastery was demolished by Arabs during the intrusion, and as shown in historical sources of IV, VIII and X centenaries, it appeared as a complex of religious buildings, residential and shops.

 

The first name of the complex was Ayrivank that meant a monastery in the cave that is in the 923 was changed by Vice-regent of the caliph, and it also was looted priceless treasures stored here and were burnt invaluable manuscripts. Well, meanwhile the time and the seismic instability of the territory also did their job.

 

The main shrine was renovated in 1215 under the leadership of the brothers Ivan and Zahar, who were the generals of Queen Tamar of Georgia, which freed the majority of the Armenian lands from the Turks.

It is rich in traditional decorative elements, which can be seen on the southern portal. Gavit – Armenian word used to indicate the type of room that was used for lectures and meetings with the pilgrims. Gavit decorated with bas-reliefs, in which are also visible the figures of pagan traditions have symbolic significance of a religious nature. Several chapels were carved into the rock in the middle of the 13th century.

 

One room, which is placed over two churches, zamatum, meaning in the Armenian is kind of the atrium or small tunnel, which connects to the church Avazan.

 

Soon the inhabitants of the Principality Proshians built in caves: the second temple, the family vault of Zhamatun Papak and Ruzukan, conference hall, destroyed in the middle of the twentieth century, as well as numerous cells. And the room in the north-eastern part became the last refuge of Prince Prosh Khaghbakian in 1283.

 

Here in the neighborhood in the rock carved coats of arms of the family Proshian, one of which depicts a lamb in its talons of the eagle. The same family is credited with the construction of the thirteenth century irrigation system of Gegard.

 

Monastery during its existence has gone through different periods of prosperity and heavy damage, but today is in good condition and recovered for tourism.

 

Impressive high cliffs that are part of the gorge of the Azat river are surrounding the complex. Here you can also see numerous khachkars, characteristic stone crosses.

In 2000 the monastery Geghard and Azat Valley itself became the part of the UNESCO World Heritage.

Аренда автомобилей в Ереване по самым низким ценам,
от компании по прокату автомобилей Naniko

Консультант

Tel: (+374) 43 48 44 88 / 60 40 11 00

email: contact@naniko.com


Путешествие в Монастырь Гегард

Монастырь Гегард поражает посетителей с первого взгляда своей иератической торжественностью и неописуемой красивой скалистых гор, в окружении которых он находится.
Он расположен в одноименном городе в провинции Котайк и его наименование в переводе означает — монастырь копья, что относится к тому копью, которым был ранен Христос при распятии. Согласно легенде, оно было привезено в Армению апостолом Фадеем и на сегодня хранится в Эчмиадзине как ценнейшая реликвия.
Уникальность и очарование монастыря заключаются в том, что часть его структуры вырезана в скале.
Известно, что монастырь основал Григорий Просветитель на месте святого источника, исходящего извнутри пещеры.
Первоначальный монастырь был разрушен при нашествии арабов в девятом веке, и по историческим источникам IV, VIII и X веков он представлял собой комплекс культовых зданий, жилых помещений и магазинов.
Оригинальное название комплекса было Айриванк, что означало монастырь в пещере, которое в 923 году было изменено вице-регентом халифа в Армении, и при нем же и были разграблены бесценные сокровища, хранящиеся здесь, были преданы огню рукописи неоценимого значения. Ну, а меж тем, время и сейсмическая нестабильность территории также сделали свое дело.

 

Главный храм комплекса был реконструирован в 1215 году под руководством братьев Захар и Ивана, которые были генералами царицы Грузии Тамар, которая освободила большинство армянских земель от турок. Он богат декоративными традиционными элементами, что можно увидеть на южном портале. Гавит — армянское слово, используемое для обозначения типа зала, используемого для лекций и встреч с паломниками. Гавит украшен барельефами, где также видны фигуры языческих традиций имеющие символическое значение религиозного характера. Несколько часовен были высечены в скале в середине тринадцатого века.

Еще одна комната, высеченная в скале, которая находится над двумя церквями, zamatum, означающий на армянском вид атриума или небольшой туннель, подключенный к церкви Avazan.
Вскоре народ княжества Proshians соорудили в пещерах: второй храм, семейный склеп Zhamatun Папака и Ruzukan, залу для совещаний, разрушенную в середине двадцатого века, а также и многочисленные кельи. Ну, а комната в северо-восточной части стала последним пристанищем князя Прош Khaghbakian в 1283.
Здесь же по соседству в скале высечены гербы семьи Proshian, на одном из которых изображен ягненком в когтях орла. Этому же семейству принадлежит заслуга сооружения в тринадцатом веке системы орошения Гегарда.
Монастырь за время своего существования пережил различные периоды процветания и тяжелых разрушений, но на сегодняшний день в хорошем состоянии, восстановлен ​​в туристических целях.
Впечатляющие высокие скалы, являющиеся частью ущелья реки Азат, окружают комплекс. Здесь можно также увидеть многочисленные хачкары, характерные каменные кресты.
В 2000 монастырь Гегард и сама долина Азат стали частью Всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО.