Rent a car in Yerevan at the lowest prices,
from car rental company Naniko

live help online

Tel: (+374) 43 48 44 88 / 60 40 11 00

email: contact@naniko.com


Travel to Monastery Khor Virap

About Mount Ararat once in a life heard every inhabitant of the Earth. Its fame is linked to the event, described in the Bible of Noah’s Ark, which is docked to the vertex of this mountain.

Although today the Holy Mount Ararat is in Turkey, Armenians still consider it as a part of their history and culture. The mount has two peaks, Great Ararat, of a height of 5165 meters, the geological age of which is 3.5 million years and the Small Ararat of 3925 m and about 150,000 years old. The two peaks of extinct volcanoes visible from almost anywhere in Armenia.

 

And it is exactly with a backdrop of this magnificent and holy mountain, in the beautiful Ararat valley, about 8 kilometers south of Artashat, is the Convent of Khor Virap – the most famous architectural and historical monument, and sacred place of the Armenian Apostolic Church.

 

This fortified monastery is a out-and-outer monument of its kind and perchance the most revered by Armenians since it was erected in the place where in a deep well on the orders of Tiridates III, for 13 years, was imprisoned Gregory the Illuminator, who later baptized the king and became his spiritual mentor.

Khor Virap translated from Armenian means deep pit which was infested with venomous snakes and scorpions, where it survived St. Gregory.

The monastery is encircled by green pastures and vineyards in the Ararat valley and not far from it flows the river Araks.

 

Nerses Chapel was built in the 5th century around the famed yawner and was a structure made of white limestone. A cloister was built around a large fence surrounding the ruins of the old chapel. This temple was dedicated to St. Astvatsatsin.

 

The pit, in which was imprisoned the saint is to the south-west of the main temple, in the Chapel of St. Gevorg, a small basilica filled with half-round apse. Of the two existing wells inside the chapel, the one that was of Gregory is a little away and has the depth of six meters. The pit is available through two marked holes. There is a small room, a spiral staircase and a small fence hole.

To the right of the main hall of the cave, where a long stairway down leads to a large cellule, which was the prison of Gregory. The descent into the well is approximately of 60 meters. The very pit is well covered, but the way through the metal stairs requires a solid shoes. And with that, here are pretty high humidity , and due you need to be attentive during the descent.

 

Archaeological excavations have been carried out here since 1970 on the thirteen hills and the territory surrounding the Khor Virap, up to the river valley. In addition to a variety of ancient coins and antiquities, during excavations were found well-preserved fortifications of mud bricks.

The monastery attracts many pilgrims and tourists.

In the mid 90th of the last centenary young volunteers from the Canadian Youth Mission, Cyma, supported to restore the cathedral.

Аренда автомобилей в Ереване по самым низким ценам,
от компании по прокату автомобилей Naniko

Консультант

Tel: (+374) 43 48 44 88 / 60 40 11 00

email: contact@naniko.com


Путешествие в Монастырь Хор Вирап

О горе Арарат хоть раз в жизни слышал каждый житель Земли. Его известность связана с событиями, описанными в Библии о Ноевом ковчеге, который причалил именно к вершине этой горы.

Хотя на сегодня Святая гора Арарат и находится в Турции, армяне все же считают его частью своей истории и культуры. Гора состоит из двух вершин, Большого Арарата, высотой в 5165 м, геологический возраст которого насчитывает 3,5 миллионов лет и Малого Арарата — 3925 м и около 150.000 лет. Эти две вершины потухших вулканов видны практически с любой точки Армении.

 

И именно на фоне этой великолепной и священной горы, в прекрасной Араратской долине, примерно в 8 километрах к югу от Арташата, расположен монастырь Хор Вирап — самый известный архитектурный и исторический памятник и священное место Армянской Апостольской Церкви.

 

Этот укрепленный монастырь представляет собой уникальный памятник в своем роде и, возможно, самый почитаемый армянами, поскольку возведен именно в том месте, где в глубокой скважине по приказу Трдате III, на протяжении 13 лет был заточен Григорий Просветитель, который позже крестил царя и стал его духовным наставником.

 

Хор Вирап в переводе с армянского и означает глубокую яму, кишащую ядовитыми змеями и скорпиона, где и выжил Святой Григорий.

Монастырь стоит в окружении зеленых пастбищ и виноградников в Араратской равнине, а недалеко от него течет река Аракс.

 

Часовня Нерсес была построена в 5 веке вокруг знаменитой ямы и представляла собой строение из белого известняка. А монастырь был воздвигнут вокруг большого забора, окружающего руины старой часовни. Эта церковь была посвящена Сурб Аствацацин.
Яма, в которую был заключен святой, находится к юго-западу от главного храма, в капелле Святого Геворга, в небольшой базилике наполненной полукруглой апсидой. Из двух существующих скважин внутри часовни, та, что была Григора находится подальше, и шести метров глубиной. Яма доступна через два отмеченных отверстия. Здесь небольшая комната, винтовая лестница и небольшая ограда ямы.

Справа от подземелье главный зал, откуда длинная лестница вниз ведет в большую келью, которое и было тюрьмой Григория. Спуск в скважину примерно 60 метров. Сама яма хорошо освещена, но путь по металической лестнице требует наличия прочной обуви. И при том, здесь довольно высокая влажность в летние месяцы, требуется быть осторожным при спуске.

 

Археологические раскопки были осуществлены здесь с 1970 на тринадцати холмах и территории, окружающей Хор Вирап, вплоть до долины реки. Помимо древних монет и различных предметов старины, при раскопках были найдены хорошо сохранившиеся фортификационные сооружения из глиняных кирпичей.

Монастырь привлекает множество паломников и туристов.
В середине 90-х годов прошлого столения молодые добровольцы из канадской молодежной миссии в Армении, Cyma, помогли восстановить собор.