Rent a car in Yerevan at the lowest prices,
from car rental company Naniko

live help online

Tel: (+374) 43 48 44 88 / 60 40 11 00

email: contact@naniko.com


Travel in Gyumri

In the historical chronicles of Urartu relating to the 8th centenary BC, the area of Gumri is referred as Kumayri. The first settlers as supposed were Greek colonists around 401 BC. But rxists an another, alternative view, accordingly to which the burg was established by the Cimmerians, as they vanquished the region in 720 BC.

 

In the Middle Ages, Kumayri had a great importance, referring to the Armenian historian Ghevond, it was the core of the Armenian revolt against the Arab Islamic caliphate.

Being controlled in different periods by Turkics and Persians, the city over the centuries had not lost its significance until the 19th century.

 

After the Russian-Persian war, Gyumri and its surroundings fell under the authority of the Russian Empire, which was controlled the territory from 1804. Then, when there was a Russian Turkish war of 1829, a great quantity of Armenians for that moment lived in the Turkish Empire, emigrated from there and settled around Gyumri .

 

In 1837 Tsar Nicholas I, during his visit issued a decree about renaming the town in Alexandropol after the name Alexandra Fyodorovna.

 

Alexandropol became a major center of Russian troops, and after the railroad was built in 1899, was seen significant development and soon it became the largest center in the Eastern Armenia. For the end of the 19th in Alexandropol were 430 outlets, a variety of cultural institutions and the town was famed by its religious buildings.

 

In view of its antiquity, Gyumri interesting for its rich history and unique style of architecture. Unluckily, many cultural and historical buildings have been irrevocably lost in two devastating earthquakes of 1926 and 1988.

 

Over the ages Gyumri was celebrated for its schools and theaters and deservedly called the place of trades and arts. In 1912, in Gyumri it was the first exhibition ever organized work in Armenia. It also homed the first Armenian opera house opened in 1923.

 

In the sequence of archaeological excavations of 20th century, thanks to the found graves and houses, it was discover that the area was inhabited from approximately the third millennium BC.

 

Amongst the local attractions should be noted Sev Berd fortress of 1830m which was built on a hillside, where the case of siege could fit 15,000 soldiers and officers. Here, close to the hill stands a colossal statue of Mother Armenia.

 

Here are preserved such wonderful religious monuments as:

Marmashen Convent of the 10th century, disposed 6 km from Gyumri, temple of Surb Amenaprkich designed with similarities to the Cathedral of Ani, which was gravely damaged in the earthquake, the Cathedral, known as the Seven Wounds of Our Lady, built between 1873 and 1884, and many others the structure of the later periods.

Аренда автомобилей в Ереване по самым низким ценам,
от компании по прокату автомобилей Naniko

Консультант

Tel: (+374) 43 48 44 88 / 60 40 11 00

email: contact@naniko.com


Путешествие в Гюмри

В исторических летописях Урарту, относящихся к 8 века до нашей эры, область Гюмри упоминается как Кумайри. Первые поселенцы, как полагается, были греческими колонистами примерно в 401 г. до н.э. Но есть и другая, альтернативная точка зрения, согласно которой город был основан киммерийцами, поскольку они завоевали регион в 720 году до нашей эры.
В средние века, Кумайри имел огромную важность, ссылаясь на армянского историка Гевонда, город явился центром армянского восстания против исламского халифата Араб.
Будучи контролируемым в разные периоды тюркскими и персидскими династиями, город на протяжении веков не терял своей значимости, вплоть до начала 19-го века.
После русско-персидской войны Гюмри и прилегающие территории попали под власть Российской империи, которая стала контролировать территорию с 1804. Затем когда случилась русско турецкая война 1829 года, огромное количество армянского населения, проживающих в Османской империи, эмигрировали оттуда и поселились в окрестностях вокруг Гюмри.

В 1837 году царь Николай I во время своего визита издал указ об переименовании его в Александрополь в честь имени своей супруги Александры Федоровны.

Александрополь превратился в крупный центр русских войск, а после того как была проложена железная дорога в 1899 году, стало наблюдаться значительное развитие, и вскоре он стал крупнейшим центром в восточной Армении. К концу 19-го века в Александрополе было 430 торговых точек, различные культурные учреждения и город славился своими религиозными строениями.
С учетом своей античности, Гюмри интересен своей богатой историей и неповторимым стилем архитектуры. К сожалению, множество культурных и исторических строений были безвозвратно утрачены при двух разрушительных землетрясениях 1926 и 1988 годов.

На протяжении веков Гюмри был знаменит своими школами и театрами и вполне заслуженно назывался городом профессий и искусств. В 1912 году в Гюмри была проведена первая выставка работ в Армении. Он также является домом для первого армянского оперного театра, открытого в 1923 году.

В ходе археологических раскопок на протяжении 20-го века, благодаря найденным захоронениям и домам, было установлено, что площадь была заселена примерно с третьего тысячелетия до нашей эры.

Среди достопримечательностей нужно отметить крепость Сев Берд 1830 года, возведенную на склоне холма, где на случай осады могли уместиться 15000 солдат и офицеров. Здесь же недалеко на холме стоит монументальная статуя Матери-Армении.

 

Здесь сохранились такие замечательные религиозные памятники как:

Монастырь Мармашен 10-го века, находящийся в 6 км от Гюмри, церковь Сурб Аменапркич, спроектированный со сходством с Собором Ани, которая сильно была повреждена при землетрясении, Собор, известный как Семь ран Пресвятой Богородицы, построенный между 1873 и 1884 годами и многие другие строения более поздних периодов.