Select a language:
Rent a car in Yerevan at the lowest prices, from car rental company Naniko
Tel: (+374) 43 48 44 88 / 60 40 11 00
Pick up: Find a location
In the historical chronicles of Urartu relating to the 8th centenary BC, the area of Gumri is referred as Kumayri. The first settlers as supposed were Greek colonists around 401 BC. But rxists an another, alternative view, accordingly to which the burg was established by the Cimmerians, as they vanquished the region in 720 BC.
In the Middle Ages, Kumayri had a great importance, referring to the Armenian historian Ghevond, it was the core of the Armenian revolt against the Arab Islamic caliphate.
Being controlled in different periods by Turkics and Persians, the city over the centuries had not lost its significance until the 19th century.
After the Russian-Persian war, Gyumri and its surroundings fell under the authority of the Russian Empire, which was controlled the territory from 1804. Then, when there was a Russian Turkish war of 1829, a great quantity of Armenians for that moment lived in the Turkish Empire, emigrated from there and settled around Gyumri .
In 1837 Tsar Nicholas I, during his visit issued a decree about renaming the town in Alexandropol after the name Alexandra Fyodorovna.
Alexandropol became a major center of Russian troops, and after the railroad was built in 1899, was seen significant development and soon it became the largest center in the Eastern Armenia. For the end of the 19th in Alexandropol were 430 outlets, a variety of cultural institutions and the town was famed by its religious buildings.
In view of its antiquity, Gyumri interesting for its rich history and unique style of architecture. Unluckily, many cultural and historical buildings have been irrevocably lost in two devastating earthquakes of 1926 and 1988.
Over the ages Gyumri was celebrated for its schools and theaters and deservedly called the place of trades and arts. In 1912, in Gyumri it was the first exhibition ever organized work in Armenia. It also homed the first Armenian opera house opened in 1923.
In the sequence of archaeological excavations of 20th century, thanks to the found graves and houses, it was discover that the area was inhabited from approximately the third millennium BC.
Amongst the local attractions should be noted Sev Berd fortress of 1830m which was built on a hillside, where the case of siege could fit 15,000 soldiers and officers. Here, close to the hill stands a colossal statue of Mother Armenia.
Here are preserved such wonderful religious monuments as:
Marmashen Convent of the 10th century, disposed 6 km from Gyumri, temple of Surb Amenaprkich designed with similarities to the Cathedral of Ani, which was gravely damaged in the earthquake, the Cathedral, known as the Seven Wounds of Our Lady, built between 1873 and 1884, and many others the structure of the later periods.