Rent a car in Yerevan at the lowest prices,
from car rental company Naniko

live help online

Tel: (+374) 43 48 44 88 / 60 40 11 00

email: contact@naniko.com


Travel to the Monastery of Noravank

Built on the slope of a deep ravine on the river Arpha, and opening from its height the indescribable scenic landscapes, the monastery constructed of red brick is a true masterpiece of architecture.

Its location is in the area of Vayots Dzor, 122 kilometers far from Yerevan, and it is also sometimes called Amaghu Noravank named as the nearby village, to distinguish it from Bgheno-Noravank, located near Goris.

 

Even in the early Middle Ages, the place was considered as a sanctuary. That times, on the territory of today’s monastery was the shrine of St. Phokas, where inside was the source of spring water, since ancient times considered as a place of worship. In the ninth centenary, there was built the temple of Surb Karapet, and in those days the monastery was called Avag, which means the main, and only in 1221 was named the Noravank, i.e. New Monastery. It was the center of writing, and in the 144th century, had become the spiritual center of exceptional importance. For some period in the Noravank kept part of the Holy Cross of Christ, painted with his blood. This great gift was presented by some mysterious stranger.

 

Here in 1273 was buried prince Smbat, over the grave of which was soon erected the church cemetery of St. Gregor, under the guide of architect Siranes.

 

The monastery was badly damaged by earthquake in 1840 and therefore was neglected, but in the 50s of the last century has been partly restored, and in 1982 excavations and serious work on the reconstruction were begun. Dome and roof of the temple of Surb Stephanos Nakhavka have been fully restored, and the coverings of other buildings.

The works have been accomplished and the convent was recovered and opened by 1998.

 

Church Astvatsatsin is a two-storey building in three levels with its magnificent dome stands in splendid isolation in the eastern part of the complex. The lower level was intended as a cemetery for the noble family Orbelian. And access to the second floor is opened by a narrow stone staircase from the outside of the building.

 

In the ancient Armenian architecture and art can be noticed with originality and high artistic level of performance of reliefs of biblical and evangelical motives.

 

On the tympanum of the entrance reproduced Heavenly Mother with the child, from the left the head of John the Baptist with a halo, to the right – the preacher Isaiah, with an appropriate inscription. This image of the prophecy of salvation of the Blessed Virgin Mary is a unique instance in the Armenian art.

 

In 1983, during the excavations it was found and returned to the place the coat of arms of the princely family Orbelian – eagle grip with claws the deer. And in the chapel of St. Gregory is appears the carved tombstone of 1300, with the image semi-human and half-lion, currently placed over the grave of Prince Smbat Orbelian.

 

The glory of Noravank is intertwined with the name of great architect and master Momik, who lived in the thirteenth – fourteenth centuries. His works has been fruitful not only in Syunik region, but in the whole Armenian kingdom. He was the author of the most ambitious khachkars – stone crosses, among which the most valuable ones, in the territory of Noravank with images of Christ and his 12 apostles.

Аренда автомобилей в Ереване по самым низким ценам,
от компании по прокату автомобилей Naniko

Консультант

Tel: (+374) 43 48 44 88 / 60 40 11 00

email: contact@naniko.com


Путешествие в Монастырь Нораванк

Возведенный на склоне глубокого ущелья на реке Arpha и открывающий со своей высоты неописуемые живописные пейзажи, этот монастырь сконструированный из красного кирпича представляет собой истиный шедевр архитектуры.
Его местонахождение в районе Вайоц Дзор, в 122 километрах от Еревана, и он иногда называем также Amaghu Нораванк, по имени близлежащего села, чтобы отличить его от Bgheno-Нораванк, находящегося недалеко от Горис.

 

Уже в раннем средневековье место считалось святилищем. Тогда на территории сегодняшнего монастыря, в церкви Св Phokas, был источник родниковой воды, с античных времен считавшийся местом культа. В девятом веке, здесь был построен храм Сурб Карапет и в те времена сам монастырь именовался Аваг, что означает основной, и лишь в 1221 году стал именоваться Нораванк, т.е. Новый Монастырь. Это был центр письменности, а в четырнадцатом веке уже стал духовным центром исключительной важности. Некоторое время в Нораванке хранилась часть Святого Креста Христова, окрашенная его кровью. Этот великий дар был преподнесен неким таинственным незнакомцем.
Здесь в 1273 был похоронен князь Смбата, над могилой которого вскоре была возведена церковь-кладбище Святого Грегора, под руководством архитектора Siranes.
Монастырь сильно пострадал при землетрясении 1840 года и соответственно был покинут, но в 50-е годы прошлого века был частично восстановлен, а в 1982 году были начаты раскопки и серьезные работы по реконструкции. Купол и крыша церкви Сурб Стефанос Nakhavka были полностью восстановлены, а также покрытия других строений.

Работы были полностью завершены и Монастырь был восстановлен и открыт к 1998 году.

 

Церковь Сурб Аствацацин двух- этажное здание в три уровня, со своим великолепным куполом, в гордом одиночестве стоит в восточной части комплекса. Нижний уровень предназначался как кладбище для дворянской семьи Орбелян. А доступ на второй этаж открывается с помощью узкой каменной лестницы, с наружней стороны здания.
В армянской древней архитектуре и искусстве считываются с оригинальностью и высоким художественным уровнем исполненные рельефы библейских и евангельских мотивов.

 

На тимпане входа воспроизведены Небесная Матерь с ребенком, слева голова Иоанна Крестителя с ореолом, справа — проповедника Исайи, с соответствующей надписью. Это изображение пророчества о спасении Пресвятой Девы Марии представляет собой уникальный экземпляр в армянском искусстве.

 

В 1983 году при раскопках был обнаружен и возвращен на место герб княжеского семейства Орбеляна — орел, когтями крепко держащий оленя. А в часовня святого Григория находится резная надгробная плита 1300 года, с изображением полу-человека и полу-льва, на данный момент помещенная над могилой князя Смбата Орбеляна.
Слава Нораванк тесно переплетена с именем великого архитектора и мастера Момика, жившего в тринадцатом — четырнадцатом веках. Его деятельность была плодотворна не только в регионе Сюник, но, по всей вероятности, во всем армянском царстве. Именно он был автором самых грандиозных хачкаров — каменных крестов, среди которых особенно ценны те, что на территории Нораванк с образами Христа с его 12 апостолов.